About hobbies…

I have lost my hobbies.  I used to have some.  I enjoyed them very much.  But then work got in the way.  It took several years for me to realize that my hobbies had slipped away.  When I finally decided that I wanted them back, I faced an unforeseen challenge — I wasn’t quite sure how to make them fit into my life anymore.

I’m writing this blog as a way of organizing my thoughts.  I am also hoping that by sharing my journey, the wisdom of others may help to inspire me along the way.  I’m interested in learning how others have had a similar challenge and some of the solutions people have found along their way.

I have a few ground rules that I’ve set for myself.  First, this blog should have nothing to do with my work.  My work got in the way of having hobbies in the first place, after all… Allowing it to get in the way of my stories here would be counterproductive.  That being said, some occasional comments will probably sneak in here just for some exposition.  Please forgive me the occasional indulgence.

Second, I don’t have to have sexy or glamorous hobbies.  If it makes me happy and feels productive, it’s okay.  Also, I don’t have to have twenty hobbies.  Three or four good ones would probably be fine.

Third, I’ve decided that it’s okay to be wrong.  If I try a hobby that doesn’t quite fit, leaving that hobby behind doesn’t mean I’m a quitter or a failure.  Hobbies are supposed to be fun and challenging and enriching… Not another source of stress in life.

The first few posts here will probably explain a little bit more about how I started this journey.  As time goes on, I plan to introduce some of the hobbies I’ve found as well as updates on new hobbies as they come into my life.  Please feel free to reach out to me here with any comments or suggestions from your own experience.  I suspect that I’m not alone in this endeavor, and as we all learn eventually, sometimes it’s good to share those experiences. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “About hobbies…

Leave a Reply

